All persons responsible for the excavation and research projects since 2010 (Humboldt-Ostia-Forumproject (HOF) 2010-2014, Ostia-Forum-Pproject (OFP) ongoing) would like to gratefully acknowledge the following institutions and individuals who have supported us and have contributed to this project in many ways. All of these institutions and their staff were generous with both their time as well as their resources. This includes providing and giving permission to work on Ostian material, photographs and documents, and providing advice regarding the development of the project.


We would like to thank:

– Soprintendenza Speciale per i Beni Archeologici di Roma, responsible for Ostia:

  • Prof. Mariarosaria Barbera (Soprintendente)
  • Dr. Angelo Pellegrino (Director of the Scavi di Ostia, until 2013)
  • Dr. Paola Germoni (Archivi Scientifici & Depositi)
  • Dr. Cinzia Morelli (Director of the Scavi di Ostia, 2013-)

– The former Soprintendente di Ostia:

  • Prof. Anna Gallina Zevi

– Humboldt University, Berlin:

  • Prof. Peter Frensch (Vice President for Research at Humboldt-University)
  • Prof. Stefan G. Schmid (Winckelmann Institute of Classical Archaeology)

– Excellence Cluster TOPOI, Berlin:

  • Undine Lieberwirth, Dr. des. (GIS-Coordination, area A-III-6)
  • Bernhard Fritsch, Dr. des. (3-D Ortophotography, area E-1)

– Freie Universität, Berlin:

  • Dr. Hans Peter Thamm (Institute for Geoscience)

– German Aerospace Center (Zentrum für Deutsche Luft- und Raumfahrt, DLR):

  • Dipl. Ing. Bernhard Strackenbrock (Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik, Robotersysteme Oberpfaffenhofen – Wessling)

– Illustrated architecture:

  • Dipl. Ing. Birgit Tsuchyia

– Eastern Atlas GmbH & Co.KG:

  • Dipl. Ing. Burkart Ullrich
  • Dipl. Ing. Cornelius Meyer

– Christian Krug Photo and Layout

  • Christian Krug

– Berlin-Brandenburgische Adademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW)

  • Dr. Manfred G. Schmidt

– Deutsches Archäologisches Institut Rom:

  • Prof. Klaus Stefan Freyberger (Wissenschaftlicher Direktor)
  • Prof. Henner von Hesberg
  • Dr. Philipp von Rummel
  • Alessandra Ridolfi

– Gerda-Henkel-Stiftung, Köln

  • Dr. Angela Kühnen

– Elisabeth Munksgaard Fonden, Copenhagen

– Deutsch-Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)

and all individuals, institutions & companies mentioned in the section “Funding so far”


We like to thank following persons for their advice and help in Ostia and Berlin:

– Italy:

  • Prof. Carlo Pavolini (Università degli Studi della Tuscia – Viterbo)
  • Prof. Patrizio Pensabene (Università La Sapienza 1, Dipartimento di archeologia)
  • Prof. Massimiliano David (Università di Bologna, Progetto Ostia marina)
  • Prof. Ida Baldassare (Università di Napoli)
  • Prof. Mireille Cébeillac Gervasoni (Ecole francaise, Roma)
  • Dr. Roberta Geremia-Nucci (Istituto Nazionale di Archeologia e Storia dell’Arte)
  • Dr. Sandra Terranova (Scavi di Ostia)
  • Dr. Stella Falzone (Scavi di Ostia)
  • Dr. Paola Olivanti (Scavi di Ostia)
  • Dr. Alfredo Marinucci (Scavi di Ostia)
  • Dr. Maria-Antonietta Ricciardi (Ostia)
  • Dr. Fiorenzo Catalli (Ministero per i Beni e le attività culturali, Roma)
  • Paola Roglia (Scavi di Ostia)
  • Elvira Angeloni (Scavi di Ostia, Archivio Fotografico)
  • Giuseppina Cucinotta (Scavi di Ostia)
  • Patrizia Colonna (Scavi di Ostia)
  • Elisa Ritzmann (Deutsches Historisches Institut, Rom)

– United Kingdom/Canada:

  • Prof. Janet DeLaine (School of Archaeology, Faculty of Classics, Oxford)
  • Prof. Bryan Ward-Perkins (Trinity-College, Oxford)
  • Prof. Charlotte Roueche (King’s College, London)
  • Dr. Michael Mulryan (Kent-University, Canterbury)
  • Dr. Luke Lavan (Kent-University, Canterbury)
  • Dr. Björn Ewald (University of Toronto, Canada)

– Germany/ Switzerland/Austria:

  • Prof. Christian Witschel (Universität Heidelberg)
  • Prof. Valentin Kockel (Universität Augsburg)
  • Prof. Franz Alto Bauer (Ludwig-Maximilian Universität, München)
  • Prof. Michael Heinzelmann (Universität Köln)
  • Prof. Beat Brenk (Basel)
  • Prof. Stephan G. Schmid (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin)
  • Prof. Luca Giuliani (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin, Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin)
  • Prof. Susanne Muth (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin)
  • Prof. Henning Wrede (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin)
  • Prof. Detlef Rößler (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin)
  • Dr. Veit Stürmer (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin)
  • Dr. Ulrich Gehn (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin)
  • Dr. Sepp Gröschel (Winckelmann-Institut, Berlin)
  • Dr. Norbert Zimmermann (Akademie der Wissenschaften, Austria)
  • Dr. Astrid Fendt (Antikensammlungen München)
  • Dr. Johannes Lipps (Universität München, Institut für Klassische Archäologie)
  • Dr. Olaf Draeger (Bonn)
  • Dr. Martin Schulz (München)
  • Anne Gering (München)
  • Susanna Wittmann, M. A. (Lektorin, Berlin)


 Ausschnitt Luftbild MFP gf jpg - Kopie